Full List of Cinemalaya 2019 Winners


The fifteenth iteration of the Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival has officially closed with the awards night on August 11, 2019. Arden Rod Condez’ “John Denver Trending” won as Best Full-Length Film, while newcomer Jansen Magpusao (John Denver Trending) won Best Actor and Ruby Ruiz (ISKA) won Best Actress.

For the Short Film category, Josef Dielle Gacutan’s “Wag Mo Kong Kausapin” won Best Film.

|| Related: Cinemalaya 2019 Reviews: The Unreel Festival Report

See the full list of Cinemalaya 2019 winners below:

Cinemalaya 2019 Winners

Cinemalaya 2019 Full-Length Feature Film Winners

  • Best Film: John Denver Trending
  • Best Director: Eduardo Roy Jr, F#*@BOIS
  • Best Actor: Jansen Magpusao, John Denver Trending
  • Best Actress: Ruby Ruiz, ISKA
  • Best Supporting Actor: Ricky Davao, F#*@BOIS
  • Best Supporting Actress: Ella Cruz, Edward
  • Audience choice: Belle Douleur 
  • Best Sound: Iska
  • Best Original Music Score: John Denver Trending
  • Best Editing: John Denver Trending
  • Best Production Design: Edward
  • Best Cinematography: John Denver Trending
  • Best Screenplay: Iska

Cinemalaya Short Film Winners

  • Best Short Feature Film: Wag Mo Kong Kausapin, Josef Dielle Gacutan
  • Best Director: Don Senoc, Sa Among Agwat
  • Best Screenplay: Kontrolado ni Girly Ang Buhay Niya
  • Audience choice: Heist School

Cinemalaya 2019 Special Awards

  • Special Jury Prize for Full Length: Edward
  • Special Jury Prize for Short Feature: Tembong
  • Netpac for Short Feature: Disconnection Notice
  • Netpac for Full Length: John Denver Trending
  • Netpac Award Special Mention: Sa Among Agwat
  • Shorts Special Mention for Subject Matter: Hele ng Maharlika

See the reviews of the Unreel.PH for this year’s Cinemalaya Festival entries, through our Festival Report. Join ur Movie Club here.

    Unreel is the definitive outlet on Philippine and world cinema. Built on one crucial notion — every frame is magic.