Gawad Urian 2019 Winners: Eddie Garcia, Nadine Lustre bag acting awards

The event was held Tuesday, June 18th.

Eddie Garcia from "ML" / Photo via IMDb
Eddie Garcia from "ML" / Photo via IMDb
Event featured:
Gawad Urian Awards 2019
Event date:
June 18, 2019
Event venue:
UP Film Institute, Quezon City

The 2019 Gawad Urian Awards wrapped last night—Tuesday, June 18, 2019—at the UP Film Institute, completing the list of Gawad Urian 2019 winners. First-time winners Nadine Lustre (Never Not Love You), Cherie Gil (Citizen Jake), and Joel Lamangan (School Service) make up most of the list of winning actors this year.

Meanwhile, ‘sir Eddie Garcia bagged the Best Actor award for his work in ML. The actor, who befall to a “very critical condition” after a recent incident in the set of ABS-CBN’s “FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano”, is on his sixth Gawad Urian acting award, following 2012’s Bwakaw.

Erik Matti’s BuyBust took home the Best Picture Award, while Denise O’Hara won Best Director for her Cinemalaya film, Mamang. Rody Vera’s screenplay for Signal Rock, directed by Chito S. Roño, received the Best Screenplay award.

Here is the full list of Gawad Urian 2019 winners.

Full list of winners at the 2019 Gawad Urian Awards:

Best Picture
BuyBust, Erik Matti

Best Director
Denise O’Hara, Mamang

Best Actress
Nadine Lustre, Never Not Love You

Best Actor
Eddie Garcia, ML

Best Supporting Actress
Cherie Gil, Citizen Jake

Best Supporting Actor
Joel Lamangan, School Service

Best Screenplay
Rody Vera, Signal Rock

Best Cinematography
Neil Bion, BuyBust

Best Documentary
Jewel Maranan, Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang

Best Short Film
Shaira Advincula, Tembong

Best Production Design
Michael Espanol & Roma Regala, BuyBust

Best Editing
May-i Guia Padilla, Tanabata’s Wife

Best Music
Malek Lopez & Erwin Romulo, BuyBust

Best Sound
Jonathan Hee, Steff Dereja and Miguel Hernandez, Never Tear Us Apart

    Unreel is the definitive outlet on Philippine and world cinema. Built on one crucial notion — every frame is magic.