“Star Wars: Episode IX” Cast Has Been Announced

star wars episode IX cast

New and returning cast members have been announced to join J.J. Abrams’ “Star Wars: Episode IX”.

Reprising their roles for the final installment of the Skywalker Saga are Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Kelly Marie Tran, Joonas Suotamo, and Billie Lourd. New members of the cast are Naomi Ackie, Richard E. Grant, and Keri Russell.

Related: “Solo: A Star Wars Story” Review

Fans would be thrilled to know that Star Wars veteran Mark Hamill will be back for Episode IX, together with Anthony Daniels who played C-3PO. It has also been previously announced that Billy Dee Williams will return to reprise his role as Lando Calrissian.

Interestingly, Leia Organa will also be appearing and is still played by Carrie Fisher, (thankfully) not with CGI. While Lucasfilm has already confirmed that “The Last Jedi” will be the last time that Fisher will play General Leia Organa, it appears that Abrams will be using unused footage from “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” to bring Leia back one more time.

star wars episode ix carrie fisher leia organa

Star Wars: Episode IX is scheduled for release on December 2019.

    Unreel is the definitive outlet on Philippine and world cinema. Built on one crucial notion — every frame is magic.